Jessi Turnure

Multimedia Journalist

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Ok, besides Christmas, the Summer Olympics is a pretty exciting time for my family and me. With less than a month until the XXX Games in London, I’ve basically been stalking all the events and athletes with a little help from NBC.

As the official broadcaster of the 2012 Summer Olympics, NBC has been rocking Olympic coverage around the clock.

One of the events that blew my mind was the 100 m women’s qualifier. Jeneba Tarmoh and Allyson Felix were both timed in 11.068 seconds and a review of both angles of the photo finish, taken a 3000 frames-per-second, was unable to distinguish a clear winner. According to many who have seen the image blown up to maximum there is not a pixel of difference between the athletes’ torsos and the finish line. Watch this (starting at 4:22):

A runoff was scheduled for July 2, but Tarmoh dropped out at the last minute, sending Felix to London. ESPN tells us why here:

Swimming and diving events are also some of my favorites. Ryan Lochte and Michael Phelps will be tough competitors again this year. Will Lochte win more golds than Phelps this year? It’ll be interesting.

2012 Swim Trials: Lochte Beats Phelps in 400M IM

The synchronized diving is one of my favorite parts of the diving competition. Here’s another example of how close the line is between who goes to London and who stays home:

Abby Johnston and Kelci Bryant Qualify for Olympics by Three-Tenths of a Point

Gymnastics is a third favorite of mine. I tried it out when I was little and my determined four-year-old self gave up after a year of it. I admire gymnasts for having so much strength.

Here’s one of my favorite gymnast’s routines during the Day 1 Trials:

2012 Olympics Trials Day 1: Nastia Liukin Key Routines

I will also be watching beach volleyball and water polo games. I occasionally check-in on soccer, basketball and tennis, but I like watching the more unique Olympic sports more. But I always watch the finals for all of the sports.

Stay tuned July 27 for the start of the 2012 London Summer Olmypics!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

